The tattooed lady is coming back

Stieg Larsson
Stieg Larsson

The Millennium series was a hugely popular trilogy that introduced the world to Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist, and now they are set to return in a continuation of the late Stieg Larsson’s epic saga.

Yes, that’s right: we’re getting a fourth book, the “girl with the dragon tattoo” is coming back.

This much-anticipated continuation will be published in Sweden  as Det som inte dödar oss (“What Doesn’t Kill You”). The English-language title will differ, and is yet to be confirmed.

In a press release yesterday, UK Publisher Christopher MacLehose said: “In one sense the chance to publish a new novel in the Millennium series merely underlines the sorrow of every one of his readers that Stieg Larsson could not have gone on to complete his planned ten-book oeuvre. But – and it is now almost a new and certainly fabled genre – the continuation by another hand has been long anticipated and David Lagercrantz will keep a very great storyteller’s flame alive. The MacLehose Press are delighted to help him to do that.

David Lagercrantz wrote I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, the prize-winning and bestselling “autobiography” of the Swedish football star Zlatan Ibrahimovic and is also the author of a novel of the life and death of Alan Turing entitled  Fall of Man in Wilmslow, which is out in May.

Lagercrantz is a Swedish journalist and author.

Eva Gedin, the publisher of Norstedts, says: “We all felt that David Lagercrantz was perfectly suited for the task. He is an accomplished author who has created and written about complex and highly original characters throughout his career. We knew he would write this new Millennium novel in his own voice, while being faithful to the DNA of Stieg’s characters.”

The first book in the series, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, was followed by The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. All were published after the author’s death.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top