On the bookshelves: February 2017

January 25, 2017
By

New releases coming in February.

FICTION

Norse Mythology, by Neil Gaiman: Introducing an instant classic—the master storyteller presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths (Bloomsbury, RRP $30).

Love, Lies and Linguine, by Hilary Spiers: The follow-up to Hester & Harriet finds delightfully irascible sisters on the move . . . which just goes to show you’re never too old to start again (Allen & Unwin, RRP $33).

Storm and Grace, by Kathryn Heyman: Their love knows no limits but the further they go, the more dangers there are—a literary thriller in the tradition of Before I Go to Sleep (Allen & Unwin, RRP $33).

4 3 2 1, by Paul Auster: On March 3, 1947, in a maternity ward in New Jersey, Archibald Isaac Ferguson, the one and only child of Rose and Stanley Ferguson, is born. From that single beginning, Ferguson’s life will take four simultaneous and independent fictional paths. Four boys who are the same boy, will go on to lead four parallel and entirely different lives (Faber, RRP $37).

Country Roads, by Nicole Hurley-Moore: A classic rural romance about betrayal, loss and the power of love (Arena, RRP $33).

Her Every Fear, by Peter Swanson: An electrifying, Hitchcockian psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl with a Clock for a Heart and The Kind Worth Killing (Faber, RRP $33).

Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly, by Adrian McKinty: The latest Sean Duffy thriller from multi-award-winning author Adrian McKinty (Serpent’s Tail, RRP $33).

Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders: February 1862. The American Civil War is less than one year old. Meanwhile, President Lincoln’s beloved eleven-year-old son, Willie, dies and is laid to rest. A supernatural novel based around historical fact. (Bloomsbury, RRP $33).

The World Without Us, by Mireille Juchau: An atmospheric, elegiac and gripping novel, The World Without Us is a beautifully told story of secrets and survival, family and community, loss and renewal (Bloomsbury, RRP $23).

NON-FICTION

Doctors in Denial, by Ronald W. Jones: Professor Herbert Green’s “unfortunate experiment” was uncovered in 1984 but in recent years there have been attempts to cast his work in a more generous light. This has prompted Ron Jones, who was a junior obstetrician and gynaecologist at the time, to set the record straight by telling this personal story (Otago University Press, RRP $40).

Merchants of Men, by Loretta Napoleoni: How jihadists and ISIS turned kidnapping and refugee trafficking into a multibillion-dollar business; the compelling and highly-informed account of one of the world’s darkest and most lucrative new businesses (Allen & Unwin, RRR $33).

 

Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis Cookbook, edited by Ingrid Adelsberger: More than 200 recipes for all occasions, which can be beneficial for anyone with heart disease, type 2 diabetes, lupus, rheumatoid arthritis and other inflammatory and auto-immune diseases (Allen & Unwin, RRP $40).

Making Sense, by David Crystal:  Like its three companion volumes it will appeal to everyone interested in the English language and how to use it (Profile Books, RRP $33).

Yours Always, by Eleanor Bass: A collection of passionate, deeply personal letters revealing the painful underside of love from Charlotte Bronte, Oscar Wilde, Elizabeth Taylor and more (Icon, RRP $28).

Our Revolution, by Bernie Sanders: Throughout the US Presidential campaign, Sanders galvanized voters with his progressive platform and vision for America. Now he shares experiences from the campaign trail and outlines his ideas for continuing a political revolution (Profile Books, RRP $33).

The Case Against Sugar, by Gary Taubes: With expert science and compelling storytelling, this investigation exposes the shocking truth about sugar, the tobacco of the new millennium (Granta, RRP $40).

Prick with a Fork, by Larissa Dubecki: Kitchen Confidential meets He Died With a Felafel in His Hand in this laugh-out-loud hilarious expose of the restaurant industry, where the world’s worst waitress spills the beans (Allen & Unwin, RRP $25).

YOUNGER READERS

Marge and the Pirate Baby, by Isla Fisher and illustrated by Eglantine Ceulemans: Another hilarious, anarchic and charming story in the Marge in Charge series (Piccadilly, RRP $14).

Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja books 5 (Terror at the Talent Show), 6 (Buchanan Bandits) & 7 (Scavengers), by Marcus Emerson: The next 3 books in the havoc-meets-hilarious series about a boy who is inducted into a secret society of ninjas. For ages 7-12 (Allen & Unwin, RRP $15 each).

The Edge of Everything, by Jeff Giles: On a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, seventeen-year-old Zoe and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods—only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X. For ages 13-plus  (Bloomsbury, RRP $19).

Trouble Tomorrow, by Terry Whitebeach & Sarafino Wani Enadio: A compelling novel based on the true story of a Sudanese boy who escapes from civil war. For ages 13-18 (Allen & Unwin, RRP $19).

Trouble Makes a Comeback, by Stephanie Tromly: The second book in a brilliantly funny series for fans of John Green and Jesse Andrews. For ages 13-16 (Hot Key, RRP $19).

Spy Toys, by Mark Powers: Play time is over! Toy Story meets James Bond in the first of this action-packed new series. For ages 8-plus (Bloomsbury, RRP $14).

The Tales of Beedle the Bard & Quidditch Through the Ages, both by J. K. Rowling: New editions of the companion books to the Harry Potter series. These new editions pair J. K. Rowling’s original text with jacket art by Jonny Duddle and line illustrations throughout by Tomislav Tomic (Bloomsbury, RRP $15 for Beedle & RRP $27 for Quidditch).

Where’s the Ballerina, by Abigail Goh and Anna Claybourne: This new book introduces young children to the magical world of ballet by spotting key characters from ten classic ballets, including Swan Lake, Cinderella and Coppelia. For ages 3-plus (Ivy Press, RRP $23).

Epic Fail Tales #1 Snow Man and the Seven Ninjas, by Matt Cosgrove: This isn’t the story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs that has bored children for years. This disgusting and completely awesome retelling of the classic tale brings the story to life for a whole new generation of bloodthirsty, booger hunters. For ages 8-plus  (Koala Books, RRP $7).

Embassy Row #3: Take the Key and Lock Her Up, by Ally Carter: The third and final instalment of this series by New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter, best known for her Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series. For ages 12-plus (Scholastic Australia, RRP $22).

Jillian Allison-Aitken

I come from the other land down under, where men are men, and sheep are nervous. I'm a sub-editor and in the past have been a proof-reader, news editor and web editor. I am also an ex-columnist, and book and software reviewer for the local daily newspaper.I still read. A lot. And surf the web. Also a lot.You'll find a little about both of those pastimes here, and on By George.

Latest posts by Jillian Allison-Aitken (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Currently reading

Want You Dead: A Roy Grace Novel 10